Anthony Wilson Nonet – Power of Nine (Groove Note)

I decided to have all CDs from this sophisticated musician after listening the first one presented here months ago. This is the third Anthony’s album to be added to this blog.
When I bought it, I was expecting to receive one more Anthony Wilson Trio formation, but I didn’t realize that this specifically is Anthony Wilson Nonet, so, has 9 members (although, despite Diana Krall appearance, I counted 10) and is named Power of Nine.

The key difference between this work and the others presented here before is the brass section: Baritone Sax, Trombone, Tenor Sax, Alto Sax, Soprano Sax and Trumpet. They form a very smooth background, despite the fact that it could seems the opposite before listening the tracks. The individual solos are also very nice, with special highlights to the baritone sax.
When I started listening, I surprised the style applied, seemed more predictable. My mistake. While listening track by track (I always put the entire CD to play, catching all the work flow) I realized that this is a very intriguing album: rich, complex, some melancholic touches, chaotic, progressive and dissonance. It is very different from other Anthony Wilson’s Trio albums, which are more melodic. This is not a easy to listen work, but it has very high levels of genius and creativity.
The recording quality is also brilliant, Groove Note high-level quality. Each brass in its place, allowing us to figure the distance that separates each instrument.

The same way I have counted one more musician, I counted one more music, track 12 (Bird in a Basket), excellent by the way, probably a hidden bonus, recorded but not listed. Finally, music 11, Power of Nine, where we are able to see the real power… of nine.

thank you
Leonardo

Leave a Reply

