John Pizzarelli – Knowing You (Telarc)

I always enjoyed John Pizzarelli music for the following reasons: He plays a lot guitar, is a scat singing master (sings the guitar solo at the same time), choose always a very good music set and has a Class A pianist: Ray Kennedy.
Sometimes ago, after buying my last Pizzarelli’s CD, I was certain that I had enough records of this musician and that I wouldn’t purchase more titles anymore.
I guess I listened this CD only once, some years ago, being idle in my collection since then.
In this meantime, I changed my stereo system around 2 times and never put it back to play.
Last week, I grabbed it back and put to play. I got totally amazed with the high quality of the recording. It is a jaw-dropping DSD-CD.
Put this CD to play in your system. If you don’t think it has a superb recording quality, it means that there is something wrong with your system or room.
He plays extremely pleasant musics, romantic style and also swinging tracks, with his humor touches too. Plays known standards (and unknown too).
After listening 2 times in a row, I decided that this is not going to be my last John Pizzarelli CD, at all. I’m already updating my wish-list with more titles, Telarc DSD preferably.

See also: John Pizzarelli – PS Mr. Cole – Rca Victor

Thank you
Leonardo

Leave a Reply

